Visit Abingdon County Hall Museum
The County Hall Museum, Abingdon presents the historical background of Abingdon in many engaging forms. Our aim is to create exhibitions which are relevant to the location, people, educational significance and interest for as broad an audience as possible.
What to expect from your visit
The museum includes many permanent exhibitions including The Monk’s Map, a 16th Century-Map of the River Thames around Abingdon, a reconstruction of the Anglo-Saxon Abingdon Sword, and one of the last MGB roadsters to come off the production line at the MG Factory which are some of Abingdon’s most important historically significant images and artefacts.
The ‘George Dunbar: A Personal History of Classical Animation’ exhibition has now been extended until January 7. This will explore the BAFTA award winning director and animators career through sketches, animations and recollections. Titles of relevance include BBC Beatrix Potter series, Rupert and the Frog song, The Cunning Little Vixen and UBU.
Visitors can also go to the top of the museum – the roof. This will be open from March until November every day the museum is open however, this will be closed during periods of rain, high winds or other adverse weather conditions. (Roof Prices: £2 Adults, £1 Children (6-16 years), £1 English Heritage Members) Regrettably children under the age of 6 cannot go onto the roof for safety reasons.
History Behind the Museum
The County Hall was built by stonemason Christopher Kempster, who worked with Sir Christopher Wren on rebuilding churches in London after the Great Fire of 1666. The Building completed in 1682, is on the south side of Abingdon Market Place.
The museum re-opened in 2012 after extensive building restoration work and redisplay of the museum.
Due to the nature of the 17th Century Building there are some areas of the museum that will not be completely accessible. The following facilities are available: Wheelchair lift accessible from pavement level is situated between the County Hall Museum and Punchbowl pub. This lift service allows visitors access to the basement level only. The basement has access to Museum Café, Toilets – accessible toilet and baby changing facilities, Kempster Room – the venue for schools’ workshop and family activity sessions, Display of the 1907 Crossley engines and water pump.
If you are visiting as a group we are able to offer a number of special extras including: guided tours of the gallery, early evening visits, access to the museum roof and refreshments.
The museum is open Tuesday to Sundays and Bank Holiday Mondays from 10:00am to 16:00pm. The Museum is free to visit however, there is a suggested donation of £2 Adults and £1 Children. This is suggested but non-compulsory.